Sounds Familiar will celebrate its 10th anniversary this year with a triple LP collection released in three 6-track volumes, bringing together 18 artists from across the Sounds Familiar roster.

Released on 21st April 2023, Familiar Sounds Vol. 1 features new music by Dego ft. Lord, Kamma & Masalo, Aleqs Notal ft. Anu, Kai Alcé, Retromigration and Hugo LX, reflecting the broad church of soulful dance music that has come to define Sounds Familiar over the last decade.

The album begins with Dego’s supreme machine funk – a liquid bassline connecting seamlessly across the shuffling broken beat drums of ‘Bluetooth Headset’. Things go up a gear on track two, with Kamma and Masalo’s cosmically-aligned acid supernova ‘Neon Ocean’, before Aleqs Notal serves up a slice of fluttering deep house on ‘Reminder of Tomorrow’, voiced by the brooding spoken word of London-based producer, illustrator, radio host and DJ anu, interpreting the poem ‘Restraint’ by poet Hibaq Osman.

Floating in on a jazzier tip, the B-Side hears Kai Alcé go nocturnal on ‘Late Night Submersion’, following serpentine saxophone lines down the rabbit hole and into the early hours.

Retromigration keeps the mood smooth as in-the-pocket sax and flute improvisations weave a low-lit spell into the fabric of the groove, before Hugo LX steps up the snap-back drums on ‘Sunday Night Service’, propelled by a fluid and angular drive that closes out the album in style.

The release of Familiar Sounds Vol. 1 will be followed by Volume 2 in July and Volume 3 in October 2023.

Keeping it in the family, all three volumes have been coordinated together with Enrico Crivellaro aka Volcov and will feature artwork and creative direction by SF logo creator and long-time collaborator Tyler Askew, and will be pressed and distributed by Patrick Gibin’s Verona-based Mother Tongue Records.

Familiar Sounds Vol. 1 is released on 21st April 2023.

Artist: V/A
Title: Familiar Sounds Vol 1
Label: Sounds Familiar
Release date: April 21st, 2023
Cat no: SFLP01
Format: Vinyl / Digital


Side A
Dego feat Lord – Bluetooth Headset
Kamma & Masalo – Neon Ocean
Aleqs Notal feat Anu – Reminder Of Tomorrow

Side B
Kai Alcé – Late Night Submersion
Retromigration feat Mauricesax – Pausenbrot
Hugo LX – Sunday Night Service